Crazy Feta

So we had a great thanksgiving that went way too fast. We spent time with my mom’s parents at their house which is always a riot. My assignment was to bring an appetizer. After browsing I realized this one would be good to try. I really like this but it has a really strong, unique flavor. Someone who doesn’t like garlic would probably not like this recipe which calls for a whole head of roasted garlic :).

I got this recipe from How Sweet Eats. I love Jessica’s recipes and she raved about this one so I knew I had to try it. It would be awesome on pitas, pita chips, crackers, pizza, etc. I love feta and all of these ingredients so I thought this was awesome.

Cast of characters: 16 oz feta in blocks, 1 whole head roasted garlic, half lemon, 3 jalapenos (I used 2 because I only had 2), salt & pepper

Crumble the feta on your own. I’ve never done this but I will probably buy it like this from now on- it tastes so fresh this way.

Yum. Add 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon olive oil and juice and zest of half a lemon.

While you’re doing this, your garlic and jalapenos should be roasting. She said to roast the garlic with a teaspoon of olive oil in an aluminum foil pouch, so that’s what I did. It did fine. I would recommend grilling the jalapenos to char them if you can. I did them in the oven and they got a little soggy. But once you get them off the grill or out of the oven, you need to get the skins off. The easiest way to do this is to put them in a ziploc bag for a few minutes. They will look steamy in there but it wil allow the skins to separate from the pepper. Then just scrape the skins off and cut them up- leave the ribs and seeds behind. And ALWAYS make sure you wear gloves or do the cheap thing like me and keep a paper towel between you and jalapenos. I dont think they are that spicy to eat but they burn my fingers and it’s really hard to get rid of.

Add chopped peppers and squeeze the garlic out of its skins into the feta. Mash it all up with a fork. The garlic will be very mushy so it should be easy to incorporate. If you find big chunks of garlic after mashing it, you could use a potato masher or something to get it more even.

Should look like this! I definitely wanted an extra jalapeno in this but it is great and  I had a ton of it left, so you could half it or just use it on everything :). I hope you try this and like it!

Crazy Feta

Original Recipe from How Sweet Eats

2 8 oz blocks of feta

1/2 lemon

1/4 cup +1 tablespoon olive oil

1 head garlic

3 jalapenos

Set oven to 400 degrees. Chop off the top of your head of garlic and place it in a pouch of foil. Drizzle with a teaspoon of olive oil. Place in oven for about 30 minutes. Either grill or roast jalapenos to char the skins.

Add olive oil and juice and zest of half a lemon to the crumbled feta. After they are finished, add chopped jalapenos and roasted garlic. Mash until consistent. Enjoy with anything you can put it on!

And a preview of some pictures to come:


Filed under Family, Food, Recipes

3 responses to “Crazy Feta

  1. that little contented grin on her is divine! I LOVE it! So glad it’s on my computer….and on my Christmas card! ;D hmph!

  2. That is a precious precious picture…

  3. sarah strothmann

    CAITLIN she is so cute. Also, I made the crazy feta one day… and ate half the bowl. YIKES.

Leave a Reply

